Stalker

Have you ever had that sense that you’re being watched?…that you’re being followed?  Or maybe even worse you’ve actually spotted someone watching and following you?  No matter where you go, they show up.  No matter where you turn, they follow you.  The sense of being stalked is one thing…the fact of being stalked is another.

I get the sensation of being stalked every fall.  As the calendar pages turn and the leaves begin to change colors, there’s this sixth sense that kicks in and whispers in my mind’s ear – “It’s that time again.  He’s watching you.”

Although I try to fight the urge to look, it usually only takes a couple of days and I look up in the night sky and he’s there – Orion.  The ancients called him “The Hunter.”  And he hunts me down every fall no matter where I am — he was there in Michigan and in Minnesota and in Wisconsin and now in Pennsylvania.

The ancients saw him as the great hunter chasing game across the winter sky in the northern hemisphere.  I call him the bringer of shortened days and longer nights, of colder weather and blowing snow.  Once I see him, I know that it won’t be long before I’m going to work in the dark cold and then returning home in the dark cold.

In truth, Orion is a messenger of God’s faithfulness.  He is mentioned by name three times in our Bibles – Job 9:9, 38:31, and Amos 5:8.  Orion is part of the creation activity recorded in Genesis 1:14-16  — “Let there be lights in the expanse of the heavens…let them be for signs and for seasons and for days and years…He made the stars also.”  For the thousands of years since  the fourth day of creation, Orion has been faithfully bearing his message of God’s faithfulness.  It is time for another change of seasons, as God has planned.

About Charles McLain
I am Chair and Professor of Old Testament at Calvary Baptist Seminary in Lansdale, PA.

2 Responses to Stalker

  1. Paul G says:

    Great thoughts, Chuck—well-written and encouraging. Thank you!

  2. Jim E says:

    “Oh, by the way, He made the stars too!”…and so in my mind there is a bit of humor in Genesis 1:14-16…

    You made me think of when I was very young…(and all the years in between)…I could pick out Orion so easily compared to the other constellations…so, it was always there, every time I looked…then “scientists” said that the stars of Orion are racing apart at “light speed”…but in the quiet of the night, as I look up…as it was for Job, and as in my youth, Orion is still there, still together…I find with all that is in chaos around us…His faithfulness, as you said, is sure…and as Job said, who can “loose the bans of Orion?”…

Leave a Reply

