While We Were Waiting

My wife and I were waiting for our daughter and her husband to return from visiting his family.  Near the end of our 2 hour wait, I noticed another family.  Unlike the rest of us, this family stood transfixed just beyond the “DO NOT ENTER” sign and the reach of customs officers.

A mother, a boy about ten years old and two teenagers—a boy and girl. They never took their eyes off the arrival door.  Unlike us they carried posters and wore tee-shirts with inscriptions.  Clear to anyone who turned from waiting to reading, were messages for Staff Sergeant DAD returning home from Iraq – “a real American hero.”

I whispered to my wife, “We have a soldier coming home.” Then turned my gaze to the arrival door. I began looking for a uniform, the ten year old was looking for a face. When it appeared no sign or customs employee was going to stop him from getting to his DAD! The two teens were soon clinging to a dad they hadn’t seen in too long. The smile on the soldier’s face told stories beyond words.  His wife met him and the whole family was wrapped in one hug.

Then something refreshing happened. The rest of us noticed one soldier and his family in their reunion embrace. The whole room broke out in applause. The soldier sheepishly looked up, acknowledged the applause, and walked away with his family as the applause continued.

In my mind, my experience that day pictures in a small way what I expect goes on every day at heaven’s gates.  Waiting crowds of loved ones surrounding the Savior watching the gates for the next believer arriving home.

Psalm 116:15 “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His godly ones.”

What a day that will be,
When my Jesus I shall see,
And I look upon His face,
The One who saved me by His grace;
When He takes me by the hand,
And leads me through the Promised Land,
What a day, glorious day that will be.

About Charles McLain
I am Chair and Professor of Old Testament at Calvary Baptist Seminary in Lansdale, PA.

One Response to While We Were Waiting

  1. Benoit Guillot says:

    That’s a wonderful and powerful encouragement. Let’s keep our eyes fixed on HIM!
    Thank you!
    ~Ben from Quebec 🙂

Leave a Reply

