One Hundred and One Things

During one of those busy weeks recently, I came across a quotation from Oswald Chambers that jumped off the page and grabbed my attention:

“No matter if there are a hundred and one things that press, resolutely exclude them all and look to Him.”

That really spoke to my heart because in that particular moment, I was looking at the hundred and one things and not doing a very good job looking to the Lord.

Have you noticed that most every day of your life the “hundred and one things” are always there? Anxieties about work . . . family issues . . . money problems . . . concerns about your health . . . the U.S. economy . . . terrorist attacks . . . .  Some days your list may number more than a hundred and one!

Have you also noticed that when you permit yourself to look exclusively at the hundred and one things, the more they seem to “press?” The more you look at them, the heavier they feel. Before long you feel so far under that you have to reach up to touch the floor.

It is in these moments when we feel most pressed, we must get our eyes off the hundred and one things and onto the Lord. But how do you do that? How do you “resolutely exclude” the hundred and one things? Paul has some helpful advice for us here:

“Rejoice in the Lord . . . Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus” (Phil. 4:4, 6-9).

May the Lord help us today to replace our anxious thoughts about the hundred and one things with right thoughts about Him – His power, His mercy, His fatherly care, His faithfulness to keep promises, and most importantly, His coming near to us in the person of His Son. Then we can talk to Him about the hundred and one things – and know that He is already actively at work through our prayers. As you place your hundred and one things on Him, you will sense the “press” being replaced by His power.

About Sam Harbin
I am the President of Calvary Baptist Seminary in Lansdale, PA as well as the Chair and Professor of Pastoral Theology.

One Response to One Hundred and One Things

  1. Jim E says:

    You shook my memory bank again today…it was almost 40 years ago that Judie and I found that our youngest son had a malignant brain tumor…we we had 4 boys, with only 2 in school…we were just 30, a serious blow to anyone…Judie had peace about this thing before I did…I carried this for a few days…and drove out into the country and cried…screamed at the top of my lungs…not at anyone but just to relieve the stress…I was broken…and there I made my peace with God…asking Him to take all these things…and help me carry them…Judie and I couldn’t do it alone…

    Later, we sat in the living room of our house…after the boys were in bed…we were home from the hospital, where Jeremy was…and we were talking about this whole thing…I talked, as I cried, about how amazing it was that in all of this, “I had peace.”…I said something like this, “With all this happening, how can I have peace.”…then the verse struck me…I reached for my Bible…Phil 4:4-7…and I read a verse that I knew…but hadn’t come to me until then…the one you mentioned above…it explained the peace I was feeling…”And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”…”That’s it.”, I said…”I can’t understand it…it’s beyond our understanding”…but I was thrilled with it…

    There were certainly 101 things that pressed us, chemotherapy, radiation, etc…but we found that the Lord of Glory…would help us carry them…and helped us to rejoice in it (v. 4)…there were many more than 101 things with Jeremy over the years…for not only didn’t he die, as they were sure he would…he is alive today…41 years…and still with him, there are “things”…we still take them to a God who cares…Who is there!!!

    Sorry, so long…but Dr. Harbin…what you wrote was, so good…

Leave a Reply

