A Walking Reminder Part 2

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I was in a 5K last weekend. It was a community event and our church was encouraging participation as an outreach opportunity. My wife was going to be involved—she was walking along to encourage a friend. Since we usually walk together on Saturday morning, I decided to go along too.

We arrived at the assembly site with plenty of time to spare. We assembled. We were instructed. The runners took off. Then so did we— my wife, her friend, and her friend’s friends, and I. Before we had gone a block, I realized that this was going to be a much slower pace than I was used to on a Saturday morning. After a brief word with my wife, we parted ways. She stayed with her friends. I took off.

I made it to the 1 mile marker basically as the lead runners were finishing the race. I passed another runner at the 1.5 mile point. It was thrilling . . . and then I realized that they were sitting on the grass catching their breath. At the 2 mile mark, the water table was in sight. When I made it to the last marker before the finish line, I had passed a few other runners. Finally I crossed the finish line.

I drank some water. I talked with some friends. I watched for my wife and her friend to come. I check the race board. I talked with some friends. I watched . . . After a while my wife and her friend came around the last corner. They finished the race very near the end, but they finished.

After a time of talking with friends, my wife and I strolled through the booths that were part of the local event. We laughed about passing up the award ceremony and shared the sunshine and the time together. Yesterday my wife found out that during the award ceremony her name was called. She came in second place for her category . . . and she won a medal!!

As I reflect on our 5K, I reflect on the truth of God’s Word that “the race is not to the swift” (Eccl. 9:11). “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” (Isa. 40:31).

A couple of thoughts to ponder: Are you in the right race? Are you racing for the right reason? Are you racing with the right person?

About Charles McLain
I am Chair and Professor of Old Testament at Calvary Baptist Seminary in Lansdale, PA.

Leave a comment