Is Thanksgiving Just Another Day?

Is Thanksgiving “just another day” at your house?

If it’s not, it should be.

I know. That sounds backwards. Thanksgiving shouldn’t just be like every other day, you might be thinking. It should be a day of purposeful expressions of gratitude to God for all His blessings to us. Shouldn’t it?

Well, that’s my point. Our prayers should be filled with gratitude on Thanksgiving Day, of course – just like every other day of the year. That is, for God’s people every other day ought to be just like Thanksgiving Day! Do we need a reminder?

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you”(1 Thess 5:18, ESV)

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”(Phil 4:6, ESV)

“Therefore by Him let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name.” (Heb 13:15. NKJV)

I don’t know about you, but I need regular (almost daily) reminders that when I open my mouth – God is listening for gratitude, not griping. In fact, growth in the grace of gratitude is one of the clearest evidences that God is changing me to be more like His Son Jesus.

Happy Thanksgiving to you!! And by God’s grace, may your Thanksgiving Day be just like every other day this year – an opportunity to tell God, in the hearing of others, just how thankful you are.

One thing is for sure – I’ll make sure to mention to the Lord just how thankful I am for you. We appreciate your partnership in our ministry!

About Sam Harbin
I am the President of Calvary Baptist Seminary in Lansdale, PA as well as the Chair and Professor of Pastoral Theology.

One Response to Is Thanksgiving Just Another Day?

  1. basham1 says:

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a comment